Options What Was Music? with Marcel M: Playlist from December 31, 2019 Options

Marcel M's avatar View Marcel M's profile Options

A cop knelt and kissed the feet of a priest, and the queer threw up at the sight of that.

Tuesdays Midnight - 3am (EDT) | On WFMU (Info) | 91.1, 90.1, 91.9 FM & wfmu.org
WFMU LIVE Audio Streams (Get help):   Pop-up  |  128k AAC  |  128k MP3  |  32k MP3  |  32k Windows

<-- Previous playlist | Back to What Was Music? with Marcel M playlists | Next playlist -->


Options December 31, 2019: The best of what was.. *2019 Edition*

Listen to this show:  Pop‑up player! | Add or read comments

Artist Track Album Label Year Comments Approx. start time
Undeath  Enhancing the Dead   Options The Compilation of Decomposition  Caligari  2019  https://caligarirecords.bandcamp.com/album/the-compilation-of-decomposition  0:00:00 (Pop‑up)
Vastum  Reveries in Autophagia   Options Orificial Purge  20 Buck Spin  2019  https://vastum.bandcamp.com/  0:03:33 (Pop‑up)
Blood Incantation  Slave Species of the Gods   Options Hidden History of the Human Race  Dark Descent  2019  https://darkdescentrecords.bandcamp.com/album/hidden-history-of-the-human-race  0:08:20 (Pop‑up)
Coffins  Hour of Execution   Options Beyond the Circular Demise  Relapse  2019  https://coffins.bandcamp.com/album/beyond-the-circular-demise  0:13:50 (Pop‑up)
Tomb Mold  Planetary Clairvoyance (They Grow Inside Pt 2)   Options Planetary Clairvoyance  20 Buck Spin  2019  https://listen.20buckspin.com/album/planetary-clairvoyance  0:16:53 (Pop‑up)
Mortiferum  Putrid Ascension   Options Disgorged from Psychotic Depths  Profound Lore  2019  https://mortiferum.bandcamp.com/album/disgorged-from-psychotic-depths  0:21:05 (Pop‑up)
Jute Gyte  Angeles Novus   Options Birefringence  Self-Released / Jeshimoth Entertainment  2019  https://jutegyte.bandcamp.com/  0:28:25 (Pop‑up)
Teitanblood  Sunken Stars   Options The Baneful Choir  Norma Evangelium Diaboli  2019  https://teitanblood.bandcamp.com/album/the-baneful-choir  0:35:14 (Pop‑up)
Verwoed  De Val   Options De Val  Sentient Ruin Laboratories  2019  https://sentientruin.bandcamp.com/album/de-val  0:41:21 (Pop‑up)
Sun Worship  Devoured   Options Emanations of Destruction  Vendetta  2019  https://sunworship.bandcamp.com/  0:47:17 (Pop‑up)
Cloud Rat  Webspinner   Options Pollinator  Artoffact  2019  https://cloudrat.bandcamp.com/  0:54:22 (Pop‑up)
 
Clipping.  La Mala Ordina (feat. Benny The Butcher, Elcamino)   Options There Existed an Addiction to Blood  Sub Pop  2019  https://clppng.bandcamp.com/album/there-existed-an-addiction-to-blood  0:57:06 (Pop‑up)
Zonal  System Error (feat. Moor Mother)   Options Wrecked  Relapse  2019  https://zonal.bandcamp.com/  1:02:38 (Pop‑up)
MC Yallah X Debmaster  Kubali   Options Kubali  Hakuna Kulala  2019  https://hakunakulala.bandcamp.com/album/kubali  1:06:32 (Pop‑up)
Injury Reserve  Jailbreak the Tesla (Feat. Aminé)   Options Injury Reserve  Loma Vista  2019  https://www.discogs.com/Injury-Reserve-Injury-Reserve/master/1567493  1:08:53 (Pop‑up)
Elcamino  Redrum   Options Don't Eat the Fruit  GGBR Records & Tapes / Griselda  2019  https://elcamino-ggbr.bandcamp.com/album/dont-eat-the-fruit  1:12:11 (Pop‑up)
Westside Gunn  Lunchin   Options Flygod is an Awesome God  Griselda  2019  https://daupe.bandcamp.com/album/flygod-is-an-awesome-god  1:14:56 (Pop‑up)
Benny the Butcher  Sunday School (feat. 38 Spesh, Jadakiss)   Options The Plugs I Met  de Rap Winkel Records / Griselda  2019  https://derapwinkelrecords.bandcamp.com/album/the-plugs-i-met  1:17:36 (Pop‑up)
Billy Woods  Spongebob   Options Hiding Places  Backwoodz Studioz  2019  https://billywoods.bandcamp.com/album/hiding-places  1:23:17 (Pop‑up)
Little Simz  Boss   Options Grey Area  Age 101  2019  https://www.discogs.com/Little-Simz-Grey-Area/master/1510205  1:27:10 (Pop‑up)
Freddie Gibbs & Madlib  Fake Names   Options Bandana  Keep Cool / RCA  2019  ttps://www.discogs.com/Freddie-Gibbs-Madlib-Bandana/master/1571782  1:30:06 (Pop‑up)
JPEGMAFIA  Kenal Vs. Kel   Options All my Heroes are Cornballs  EQT Recordings  2019  https://jpegmafia.bandcamp.com/album/all-my-heroes-are-cornballs  1:33:56 (Pop‑up)
Danny Brown  Change Up   Options uknowhatimsayin¿  Warp  2019  https://www.discogs.com/Danny-Brown-uknowhatimsayin/master/1639565  1:36:46 (Pop‑up)
Elizabeth Colour Wheel  23   Options Nocebo  The Flenser  2019  https://elizabethcolourwheel.bandcamp.com/  1:39:49 (Pop‑up)
Years of Denial  Crow   Options Body Map  Pinkman  2019  https://pinkman.bandcamp.com/album/body-map-pbd18  1:45:47 (Pop‑up)
Boy Harsher  Fate   Options Careful  Nude Club  2019  https://boyharsher.bandcamp.com/album/careful  1:53:32 (Pop‑up)
 
Black Sun Dreamer  What Else is There   Options Post Traumatic Stress Disorder  Detriti  2019  https://detritirecords.bandcamp.com/album/black-sun-dreamer-post-traumatic-stress-disorder  1:58:30 (Pop‑up)
Spellling  Haunted Water   Options Mazy Fly  Sacred Bones  2019  https://spellling.bandcamp.com/album/mazy-fly  2:02:13 (Pop‑up)
Xiu Xiu  Girl with Basket of Fruit   Options Girl with Basket of Fruit  Polyvinyl    https://xiuxiu.bandcamp.com/album/girl-with-basket-of-fruit  2:07:08 (Pop‑up)
Soren Roi  Crop   Options Hopefucker  Bank  2019  https://bank.bandcamp.com/album/hopefucker  2:11:19 (Pop‑up)
Broken English Club  The Modern Desire   Options White Rats II  L.I.E.S. Records  2019  https://liesrecords.bandcamp.com/album/white-rats-ii  2:16:14 (Pop‑up)
Taeter  Sedated   Options Magnum Opus  No Rent  2019  https://norentrecords.bandcamp.com/album/magnum-opus-nrr129  2:21:48 (Pop‑up)
Death Kneel  Adaptive Emotional Use   Options Adaptive Emotional Use  Total Black  2019  https://totalblack.bandcamp.com/album/adaptive-emotional-use  2:27:21 (Pop‑up)
Only Now  Mutants   Options Captivity  Discrepant  2019  https://discrepant.bandcamp.com/album/captivity-2  2:33:01 (Pop‑up)
Autumns  Talking to Yourself   Options Shortly After Nothing  Death and Leisure  2019  https://autumnsire.bandcamp.com/album/shortly-after-nothing  2:39:23 (Pop‑up)
Spreaders  Shallow Breathing   Options Psychotropes 2 (V/A)  Alrealon Musique  2019  https://alrealonmusique.bandcamp.com/album/psychotropes-2-alrn081  2:46:34 (Pop‑up)
Oil Thief  Cologne   Options The Colony  Total Black  2019  https://totalblack.bandcamp.com/album/the-colony  2:48:30 (Pop‑up)
Elcamino  Ghetto Love   Options Don't Eat the Fruit  GGBR Records & Tapes / Griselda  2019  https://elcamino-ggbr.bandcamp.com/album/dont-eat-the-fruit  2:53:16 (Pop‑up)

Listener comments!

Avatar 11:39pm Marcel M:

Hey all!

Stay tuned for my picks for best albums of 2019. I have a lot to cram into 3 hours, so I won't be doing mic breaks or back announcing.

Enjoy!
  12:03am CC:

Well...lets hope all the songs are appealing...mmmm...in a universal sense!?!...:)
  12:07am CC:

I know my son would probably really like this song!!!
Avatar 12:10am coelacanth∅:

hey Marcel!
  12:22am rw:

Yo!
  12:31am Adam West Coaster:

Sorry to be a bit of a downer, but we sure lost a great one out here in the Pacific NW. Elijah Nelson of Black Breath died this past weekend. His music, of course, made it far beyond this region. I used to love running into him at a record store he worked at called Everyday Music. Peeping his section of the employee picks was always a great education/re-education of all things metal, and he was a terribly sweet and assuming dude. Rest In Power, Elijah!
Avatar 12:33am Marcel M:

@Adam: Thats awful news... no worries in sharing though. Sorry to hear. RIP.
Avatar 12:34am Marcel M:

Hey Coelacanth, RW, CC !
Avatar Swag For Life Member 12:35am Ken From Hyde Park:

Hi, Marcel. Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit dodging mic breaks.
Avatar 12:36am Marcel M:

Hey Ken!

Well... no need to dodge tonight!
  12:37am rw:

AWC, Sorry to hear it man. I'm not familiar with Black Breath. Will look them up.
  12:38am Adam West Coaster:

Thank you, Marcel!! Thank *you* for bringing so much inspired music to the airwaves week after week!
  12:40am Adam West Coaster:

Thank you, RW! The band is definitely worth digging into.
  12:42am Adam West Coaster:

http://www.brooklynvegan.com/black-breaths-elijah-nelson-has-passed-away/

Just a quick entry point.
  12:50am Joseph Christopher Nase:

way back in the day i was on a pirate radio station back in austin. my favorite place. i had my own show. and I, just as you have, called it "what was music" i love your show and i loved mine. you do have great taste! i listen as much as possible, and i wanna thank you for sharing with us!
Avatar 12:53am Marcel M:

@Joseph: Hah! Thats amazing. Did you also name it after the Harry Pussy album? Or coincidence?
  12:54am Joseph Christopher Nase:

Harry Pussy of course. my fav bands!
Avatar 12:55am Marcel M:

Ah ha!!
  12:56am Joseph Christopher Nase:

i've told this small story a couple of times...the first time i saw Harry Pussy was at Emos back in austin...only 10 or so people showed up. i recorded it on cassette...since lost...second time i saw them people were hanging from the rafters!
Avatar 1:07am Marcel M:

I wish I got to see them!
  1:26am rw:

Digging the woozy bass line.
  1:28am Joseph Christopher Nase:

you are saving my life right now...this is so perfect hip hop that i need right now...i dont know how to feel right now...but yr choices are perfect!
  1:28am rw:

Ah! I had looked up this Hiding Places after hearing it on WWM? before. Gonna have to mark this one...
Avatar 1:30am Marcel M:

@RW: One of my top favs of this year for sure.
  1:37am rw:

MM, I think we've touched on this before but I've had trouble with hip-hop in general while at the same time knowing some of the most interesting stuff being done today is in the genre. I think because there's so much I'm just not interested in and I don't have the patience or whatever it takes to sift thru everything. My (old) age may have something to do with it too. Thanks for pre-sifting!
  1:39am rw:

Ha! Speaking of old age, you're into a stretch I know from my kids now!
  1:48am rw:

But don't worry, my kids have pretty good taste.
  1:50am rw:

May be getting too chatty here but for Xmas my son got me two tickets for us to see Swans!
Avatar 1:52am Marcel M:

@RW: Nice!
  1:55am rw:

Cool, huh? I remember playing the first EP on my college radio show. The speed either wasn't listed or wasn't clearly listed but it sounded great at both 33.3 and 45!
  1:56am rw:

Back when I was just a little older than he is now!

And I'm going to shut up now and get back to work...
Avatar Swag For Life Member 1:57am fred:

Hello Marcel and all
Avatar 1:59am Marcel M:

Hey Fred
Avatar 2:07am coelacanth∅:

and i'm going to try to sleep.
Thanks Marcel gnight folks
  2:08am rw:

'night coel! Hey fred!
Avatar 2:19am JakeGould:

Hey Marcel! Going to bed soon, but stopping by to say hi. So hey!
Avatar 2:21am Marcel M:

G'night, Coel!

Hey Jake!
  2:30am ignatatus666:

Greetings Marcel
I was waiting for this song to whisper Nowhere places it just would have fit perfectly
Love tonight’s program
I’ll be listening on the archives during the morning show
  2:35am rw:

I'm out. Thanks as always Marcel. See you in 2020. Take care and good night everyone!
Avatar 2:36am Marcel M:

Yo, Ignatatus!
  2:37am ignatatus666:

YUYYOOO
  2:49am ignatatus666:

We used to say
Why-Oh in the Bronx
Avatar 2:51am Marcel M:

Great hanging with you all!

Next week, Jonathan Herweg fills in.

The following week, a live set from Begotten!
begotten001.bandcamp.com
  2:53am Lumpy:

S P R E A D E R S ! ! !
  2:57am ignatatus666:

Happy New Year Marcel
Post a comment!
Name:
Email address
(optional, not public):
Your comment: (No HTML, please)

<-- Previous playlist | Back to What Was Music? with Marcel M playlists | Next playlist -->

RSS feeds for What Was Music? with Marcel M: RSSPlaylists feed | RSSMP3 archives feed

| E-mail Marcel M | Other WFMU Playlists | All artists played by What Was Music? with Marcel M |

Listen on the Internet  |  Contact Us  |  Music & Programs  |  WFMU Home Page  |  Support Us  |  FAQ

Live Audio Streams: Pop-up  |  128k AAC  |  128k MP3  |  32k MP3  |  32k Windows

(C) 2020 WFMU. Generated by KenzoDB, (C) 2000-2020 Ken Garson